>Happy New Year!

>I didn’t make any resolutions this year, but one occurred to me this morning over breakfast. This year, I vow to stop buying items made in China. I hope I can stick to this, meaning that I hope items are available that AREN’T made in China.

Here’s why: People buy items made in China because they don’t cost as much as items made elsewhere. Makes sense, especially if you’re on a fixed income, to try to save money. And let me state now that for those folks who are retired, living on a small income, I’m not addressing you here. I am talking about people who have the ability to pay a little more for items; people who make a decent living, don’t have to worry that if they spend $2 more for something they’ll have to cut back somewhere else. Just so we’re clear on that.

So, to you folks who are middle-class or above, who have any amount of disposable income, who can buy pretty much what they want, who don’t have problems putting food on the table, I ask you to consider what I’m about to say.

THIS IS HOW I SEE IT: We buy items made in China in order to save a couple bucks here and there. But I think that is a very short-sighted and selfish practice. We’re not thinking about the long-term here, and that is a mistake. Every time you or I buy something made in China, we are by default NOT putting money back into our own economy, but rather we are putting money into China’s economy. Do you really want to be doing that? Think hard before you answer that question.

In addition, buying Chinese encourages more American businesses to export jobs to these cheap labor markets. That means that Americans aren’t doing those jobs. This is happening more and more in this country, because no one thinks about the long-term anymore. Companies certainly don’t care about the long-term effects on this country’s economy as long as they get their profits now.

This hurts America and Americans. We are seeing the effects of this and other short-sighted business and personal practices already, with mortgages in default, our economy suffering, too many people on welfare, and on and on.

No, buying Chinese hasn’t been solely responsible for our troubles, but it certainly doesn’t help. So, I am taking this small step because it just is starting to go against my conscience to be supporting an economy that doesn’t seem to share the same values I do, and has historically been untrustworthy and even hostile to this country. And for what, a few dollars here and there?

I like my life the way it is now, and I want to keep America the way it has always been: a strong, rich, clean, sovereign, and independent leader. So I’m going to take this small step for now, maybe more in the future, and stop buying items made in China.

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to read this. And Happy New Year!
HavingMySay

