Love the Lord your God, and your neighbor as yourself

In church one Sunday, we were expecting a Sunday School lesson on Genesis. When we got there, a few minutes late, a discussion was underway about the recent Russian invasion of Georgia. The elder who was leading Sunday School was showing how he thought this event was foretold in the Bible, and referred to a specific passage about Gog and Magog as his justification for thinking this. He stated how excited he was that the end might be near, and Jesus was returning soon. He is convinced that everything that happens with Israel is a "sign" that the end is near. I know many people think this, and I have a view of all this too.

I think that no matter what is happening in the world, the big picture, that God has that under control, and basically that we are to STAY ready by living every day as He tells us, loving Him with all our mind, soul, and strength, and our neighbors as ourselves. (But we don’t; we all wait to the last minute to "get ready.") My point was that yes, we know Jesus is coming, but we are also to live fully now as we are instructed in many places in the Bible. The Bible even tells us that no one knows when the end will come, not even Jesus, and we are not to overly concern ourselves with this, and also that we are not to listen if anyone says "the end is near." His response was "well, if someone told me I was going to die in three months, I’d sure live my life differently." He thought he was one-upping me in the discussion, but he rather proved what I was saying.

I wish I had thought to tell him, "You already know you’re going to die, so what does it matter whether it’s in three months or three decades or three CENTURIES from now? Why aren’t you already living that way?" The answer is that, like Jesus’ return, it’s not a reality to him yet.

May God draw you near.

