Uninspired to Knit, but Glad to Be Alive

Have not felt like anything I’ve tried to knit lately is coming out. I have worked out the math for MANY field/edging patterns for scarves or stoles but haven’t started one yet. I do have a project going right now, though, with some Goosebump alpaca yarn (yummy stuff) that I hope will turn out ok. It’s for a gift.
 
I got really scared yesterday. Went to do an errand in a town about 20 min from my house after dropping off the dog at the vet. As I was getting in my car after the errand to come home, I noticed a storm coming up. Well, by the time I got about 1/8 the way home, it was raining hard. Then, it started to hail. Then, it started to hail MORE and I pulled over on the side of the road with several other cars so as to reduce the force with which the hail was hitting the windshield, and lessen the risk it would be broken out.
 
The noise was frightening, but what was even more frightening was that pretty soon it was hailing HORIZONTALLY because of the wind. The car started rocking, and I just knew we were in the middle of a tornado. There was no way to avoid it if that was the case, because visibility was zero, and the noise from the hail would have drowned out or at least masked the sound of a tornado. Needless to say, I prayed. And turned the radio, now on K-LOVE, up louder.
 
Just when it seemed as if it couldn’t get any worse, it hailed even harder and louder. By this time my heart was really thumping, and I was almost in tears I was so scared. There was nothing I could do; couldn’t go anywhere because I couldn’t see the road, much less any other traffic if there was any. I texted Carl and he called me, although it was hard to hear him so we didn’t talk long but it was so good to hear his voice. He told me I was almost out of the worst part because of the way the storm was moving. He was tracking it on the internet.
 
Eventually, it did subside enough for me to drive on home. I made it home ok, although the roads were flooded in the high-brow neighborhood behind our houses (but not ours!!). I called the vet to see if my dog was ready to go but he wasn’t yet.
 
The vet called a short time later, and I went to get my dog. The vet’s office hadn’t even gotten any rain!! But less than 5 miles away, I was in fear for my life. I was still rattled from my ordeal while at the vet’s office.
 
I must have been meant to go through that storm, because I had intended to go an alternate way, to go straight to the vet’s office and wait for the dog, but made a wrong turn to go home instead of to the vet’s office after my errand. Wish I had stuck to that plan but I’m still alive, and gratefully so.